oh what fleeting moments I should capture, oh what memories I should still possess

A sea of leaves

I took this one last week. These leaves are getting crispy and brown now, swaying ominously on their little stems, ready at any moment to join their fellows on the ground. What I see is a canopy of color. What I think is that I want to fall upwards and swim around in that sea of leaves.

.

Delicious autumn!

My very soul is wedded to it,

and if I were a bird

I would fly about the earth

seeking the successive autumns.

– George Eliot

6 responses

  1. Pretty!

    November 18, 2011 at 6:29 am

  2. I’m with you! I’d love to jump up in the leaves and fly around in them.

    November 18, 2011 at 10:35 am

  3. When I was a kid we would rake the leaves into a big pile and then jump in it.. It was great fun. Do kids still do this? Or is there some kind of computer game that simulates the jumping in a pile of leaves fun?

    November 18, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    • There probably is! You know, I don’t even see many piles of leaves anymore when I’m driving around. When I was younger, everyone seemed to have piles of leaves on their lawn, or piled along the curb for the city to come pick up. That makes me think of how people would drive their cars through them – fun until you hit that one that Harry Homeowner burried a couple of cinderblocks in.

      I don’t rake my leaves. But then, I’m lazy. I barely cut that grass, much less rake the leaves off it.

      November 20, 2011 at 11:53 am

What Do You See?

